Skip to content

Gov eases travel to South Africa for new visa-free countries

south africaSouth Africa has scrapped visa requirements for various countries, including New Zealand. The news that seven countries have been added to the visa waiver list for travel to South Africa, was received with applause and cheering from delegates at the SATSA Conference in Kwazulu Natal on July 10th.In 2017, in what was viewed as a blow for blow move, South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs connected visa limitations to residents of New Zealand. Administrators at the time raised worries this would mean a significant drop in guests.

Home Affairs Minister Dr Aaron Motsoaledi announced the news during the budget vote speech in parliament on Wednesday. The seven countries are:

Movement obstacles and other managerial formality are a willful issue that frustrate the travel industry development, TBCSA CEO Tshifhiwa Tshivhengwa told delegates. Motsoaledi also announced that Home Affairs would increase the number of staff working for the department by “two and a half times” to process visas in both China and India. Tshivhengwa referenced it is the ideal opportunity for the nation to quick track the execution of e-visas. The Department has just begun testing the framework at Lanseria air terminal with the testing stage finishing off with October this year so, all in all the framework will be taken off steadily.

We need to use logic to get more tourists to come to the country,” said Tshivhengwa. “We spend too much time talking about things we can fix quickly and easily.”